Straight Talk Express….

…has died. Far from the “independent thinker” described in one of the comments on the site, we are now faced with the muzzled, party-line McCain that has emerged during this campaign. He is so on message and tight-lipped that the tag “straight talk” should never again be affixed to his candidacy. Such transparency:

[Your] campaign today is more disciplined, more traditional, more aggressive. From your point of view, why the change?
I will do as much as we possibly can do to provide as much access to the press as possible.

But beyond the press, sir, just in terms of …
I think we’re running a fine campaign, and this is where we are.

Do you miss the old way of doing it?
I don’t know what you’re talking about.

Really? Come on, Senator.
I’ll provide as much access as possible …

There’s a theme that recurs in your books and your speeches, both about putting country first but also about honor. I wonder if you could define honor for us?
Read it in my books.

I’ve read your books.
No, I’m not going to define it.

But honor in politics?
I defined it in five books. Read my books.

One response to “Straight Talk Express….

  1. Good bye, Straight Talk. And this may be one of the main reasons why….

    He was pretty good at fielding questions in an unstructured environment until he joined the Presidential Candidacy Big League. Don’t know if he’s got the quickness and energy it takes to be a US President in the 21st century.

Leave a Reply

